Hardware requirements to run home assistant on some other related containers in a docker environment

I am fairly new to home assistant, I’ve only done some basic local machine tinkering, but now I am looking into the possibilities to embrace it into my home. After watching many video’s and reading a lot of articles I decided to run my whole setup on docker. I found out that newer NAS devices as for example from Synology support docker (I have no NAS at the moment so the network storage also comes in handy). I’ve been looking at this model: https://www.synology.com/nl-nl/products/DS218+ I am just not really sure how wel a model like this can handle the load all of the docker containers.

Some of the containers I want to run:

• Node-red
  • Grafana
  • Home-assistant (duh)
  • Influxdb
  • Ubiquiti UniFi Controller
  • Ubiquiti UniFi Video Controller
  • Portainer

I am really not sure what kind of hardware is required to run such setup. I found following post: My Docker Stack where @flamingm0e runs something much stronger.

Also if I bought the NUC, how would you integrate network storage as provided by a NAS? All help is appreciated.

I am hosting my HA on a pretty old Synology the DS1511+ which has an old Atom D525 CPU.
You can see the performance difference here

I am not running all of the above but I am runnin HA, PI-Hole, DS-Video, Surveillance Station with 3 cameras, server Hi Bitrate Audio etc.

If you can afford try and at least buy a 4 bay one, then you can run RAID 5 have have data redundancy in case you loose a HDD.

If you want to build your own NAS I wouldn’t get a NUC, but look for an ITX board with something like a J5005 on it. You can then have more HDD connected for redundancy.

So in your opinion running al those docker containers on the NAS wouldn’t be an issue? What about only 2 disks but running those in RAID 1? What about Synolgy vs Qnap?