Harmony Hub + Home Assistant + Alexa set up help

Hello!

Please forgive me if this is a redundant question, but I can really use some help here. I’m seeing all kinds of tutorials for scripts and what not, but I’m struggling to find some solid documentation on tying these 3 services together. I’ve used Harmony for years. But I’m new to HA and Alexa. I’ve seen tutorials on how to create scripts for the Harmony Hub, but I’m struggling to understand how to add that to Alexa or just test the scripts in HA. Can I just add whatever I need to configuration.yaml, or do I need to break out scripts in different files? How can I test this script(s)? Where do I need to put this script or config for Alexa to recognize? Do I need to create skills for these activities? Right now I just have a Watch Roku and Play PS3 activities that I care about. I use my activities to control my tv, sound bar, and roku.

Thanks in advance!

Which Roku do you have? If you have a Roku TV you might not need the Harmony Hub at all. I’m not sure though.

In order to use voice commands with Alexa to control Roku and/or Harmony Hub you have to make a separate script for each command you want and you have to have Nabu Casa or the Amazon Alexa manual setup and make your scripts visible to Amazon Alexa then you have to create a separate Routine in Alexa for each script.

In order to find the Harmony Hub commands you have to go to your config folder and look for the conf file that looks like harmony_12345678.conf then open it with a text editor. It will have all of the commands that you can use for your scripts.

I don’t know if the Activities actually work but I do know the other commands work. The commands are listed under each device in the conf folder.