Harmony Hub Sleep Timer Automation - action syntax quirk (bug?)

Hi all,

I’m new to Home Assistant, and have been working on setting it up for my home over the last month. Overall it’s gone smoothly, and it’s been really impressive how easy it is to implement everything. But I hit a snag recently working on an automation around the Logitech Harmony Hub component, and I wanted to share it in case it’s a legitimate bug, or to help others who may encounter the same issue.

Context

In my bedroom I have a lamp with a Philips Hue bulb, plus a Harmony Hub remote for the TV. I wanted to set up a sleep timer so that I could watch TV while falling asleep, and after a specified amount of time, the TV and lamp would both turn off. I attempted to accomplish this by using the Timer component, a switch, and an automation:

Timer

timer:
  bedroom_sleep:
    name: Bedroom Sleep Timer
    icon: mdi:sleep

Sample Switch

# Note that timers can have custom durations, so it's possible to have
# multiple switches with different duration values

switch:
  platform: template
  switches:
    bedroom_sleep_30_minutes:
      friendly_name: 'Bedroom Sleep 30 Minutes'
      icon_template: mdi:sleep
      value_template: "{{
        is_state('timer.bedroom_sleep', 'active') and
        states.timer.bedroom_sleep.attributes.duration == '0:30:00' }}"
      turn_on:
        service: timer.start
        data:
          entity_id: timer.bedroom_sleep
          duration: '00:30:00'
      turn_off:
        service: timer.cancel
        data:

Automation

automation:
- alias: 'Bedroom TV Sleep Timer'
  id: bedroom_tv_sleep_timer
  trigger:
    platform: event
    event_type: timer.finished
    event_data:
  action:
    # note the use of the 'data' key for all 3 elements here; this is how I
    # originally wrote it. Spoiler alert: this turned out to be the problem
    - service: remote.turn_off
      data:
        entity_id: remote.bedroom_harmony
    - service: light.turn_off
      data: