HASS, Docker, Networking and Discovery

Hi

To start off I am new to Home Assistant and Docker. Moving from Smartthings to HASS for the control and the ability to run locally.

The environment that I am building:
i5 low power utilization, 8GB, 120GB M2 SSD
Ubuntu Server 8.04
Docker
Portainer (Docker management)
homeassistant/home-assistant
traefik (reverse proxy - Let’s Encrypt wild card cert)
eclipse-mosquitto (MQTT)
stjohnjohnson/smartthings-mqtt-bridge (access to Z-Wave – looking for a Z-Wave to MQTT bride – to run on remote Pi)
nodered/node-red-docker

The primary issue being that hass not being on the same subnet as my primary network not being able to use the built in discovery capabilities (discovery is activated in configuration.yaml). this first was noticeable when HASS did not find my Google Home Mini’s for the Google Cast functions.

When I started testing HASS I used HASS.IO (homeassistant/amd64-hassio-supervisor) on docker and it was able to conduct discovery. The HASS .IO implementation created a NIC "eno1" in its homeassistant container that is in the host network. This worked perfectly to discover items on the primary network. Unfortunately, there are other issues with the HASS .IO docker implementation and program updates and (add-on’s) that caused me to move to the mainline Home Assistant docker implementation.

I have RTFM for the discovery issue and have added --network=host to docker run but docker returns “Failure container cannot be disconnected from host network or connected to the host network”. I have also attempted to add a Google Home Mini manually into the configuration.yaml despite being able to ping it from within the container.

# Google Cast
cast:
  media_player:
    - host 192.168.250.168

Any help would be apricated

It would be nice if the homeassistant/home-assistant container had the "eno1"NIC the same as the HASS.IO implementation.

Mike

Here is a copy of my docker command that uses a non-hassio image: