HASS IO Tab Missing on the Side Bar (Missing HASSIO environment variable)

Hi, I am new to HA. I have HA installed on latest Rasbian Stretch OS (I have RPI drive a 7" LCD for home control). I was trying able to get HA running and see my RPI GPIO in HA but I am missing the HASSIO tab on the side bar because of the following error. I have added “HassIO:” in my configuration.YAML file. Any hint on how I should troubleshoot this issue? I can see that HASSIO and Docker are running when I checked my Wifi icon on the RPI. Appreciate you help!

2 Likes

How did you install Hass.io?

Do you understand that Hass.io and Homeassistant are two different things?

EH?

How did you install hassio?

The hassio was installed based on webpage:

Command used:
$ curl -sL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/home-assistant/hassio-build/master/install/hassio_install | bash -s

How do I install a specific version of hassio? I tried to following code from the RPI terminal but it doesn’t understand hassio. (it yields => -bash: hassio: command not found)

hassio homeassistant update --options “version=0.69.1”

You need to enter that command in the hassio ssh interface. You would need to install the SSH addon first. Be aware that your host is likely using port 22 for SSH so you will need to assign something else for ssh on the hassio ssh addon setup and use that port when sshing to the Hassio CLI interface.

did you put HassIO: or hassio: in your configuration.yaml file? Only the second will work.

1 Like

Hi Silvrr,

Can you give me a link on how to install the SSH addon on my Raspberry pi? I probably need to read up and follow detail instructions. I can ssh to the RPI but I think it is different from what you described. Thanks

Without the hassio menu you can’t.

I am using hassio: in the configuration file. The question now is how to debug further on the two errors in my first post. Because as you mentioned, without Hassio setup properly, the SSH addon cannot be added. Thanks