HASS.IO vs Dietpi + Manual install

Hey I have a quick question. I have been running homeassistant on DietPi for a few years now and recently tried out HASS.IO image which gives you buildroot based hypervisor + the docker version of homeassistant and an attempt at making the product more user friendly (as far as I can see).

I found it a bit disorienting to work with buildroot. For example I wanted to see what services were running and typed systemctl and it’s not installed. I presume the point is to provide minimal services + docker based images on this hypervisor, but I wonder why you would give up the freedom to do anything you want on a regular Linux install, like DietPi.

I think I just need to be educated :slight_smile:

What is your experience?

If you want the Linux experience and commands it’s not for you. It’s very stripped down.

Just follow the hassio Linux installation instructions. I am running hassio on Raspian Lite.

Because HassOS is an appliance. It is intended to just work. It is not intended for tinkerers and people that are used to managing their systems.

For a Pi, so is Hassbian :smiley: It is HA on a Raspbian Lite venv with a few management scripts.

No, Hassbian is just Raspbian with Home Assistant already configured for a Python Virtual Environment. You still have a full OS that you can do whatever you like.

Different altogether.

True but the devs make sure all the dependencies are there. There are now additional dependencies needed for Linux (except Hassbian) for z-wave. That broke me a while back when they became mandatory.

HA & the OS are updated through Hassbian scripts.

That doesn’t make it an appliance. An appliance indicates that is not customizable or extendable outside what has been provided. You can’t add packages to an appliance.

By that definition the Hassio image is not an appliance due to addon “packages” & custom components.

You cannot have your cake & eat it too.