Hassio Docker - safest way to restart

I installed hass.io using this script, very successfully.

I do find that HA does become unstable after a few days so I’d like to set up a regular restart of the whole system.

What is the safest way?

Restart the supervisor? systemctl restart hassio-supervisor.service

Or another way?

I found if you install HassOs, at least the 64-bit VM, it gets unstable & need a reboot. I have not seen that issue with Hassio installed on Raspian on my RPi 3B+

In my personal opinion as a former Unix administrator, I think HassOs is likely unstable.

Hassio is great to get started but I may move away to a Home Assistant installation to gain more flexibility.

This is a docker install on top of a DietPi base running in a VM on a micro server. The DietPi base is extremely stable so I’m sure that it is Home Assistant / HassIO that is the issue (history just stops updating for instance).

A restart, and all is well again, but I find that just starting it from within HassIO is not sufficient and it really needs the whole docker environment restarted. It is about how best to do that

Fair enough. I have only run my docker version of Hassio for less than a week.

1 Like

Something is wrong. You should NOT have to do that.

1 Like

Maybe so, but right now I do, so it would be nice to know what the recommended way is to restart the system (does not need a reboot).

However, I have just discovered the disk was full so that may be the problem! Fortunately it was on a VM and running DietPi means there is a small utility to expand the FS so all good now.

Could really do with a low disk space alert.

You can create your own disk space alert.
https://www.home-assistant.io/components/sensor.systemmonitor/

I can’t agree with this. I know 32bit is recommended but I ran it for months with no compatability issues… and that was on an early version just after released. Apparently there are some addons that don’t work but I never found one.