Hassio install on docker cant create root user

Hello!
I few days ago my raspbbery pi died. Instead of buyinn another one i would like to give a try to my old laptop.

I have hp laptop with ubuntu mint. I followed these instructions:

I am using portainer aswell. everything installed corecctly. After type ip in firefox I saw a hassio logo with this monit about approx 20min instalation. After that hassio asked me for creating first root user. I typed name, username and password and cliked next but nothing happneded. I mean site mby reloaded but hasio still asked me for creating user. No matter how many times i type another login/usernames etc it stays at creating user.

After that i restarted container and hassio moved forward but now it needs username and password and noone is matching. They arent working.

What is wrong? I am new with linux/docker etc so please be patient :slight_smile: Thank you in advance.

Personally I would first delete the docker container and run again. Having said that I remember that I too had the same issue as you with the very same guide. Could never get that working.
Then I found this:

…which also helped me get a better grip on docker. Now I have a docker-compse.yml file fit for my purpose which I can use if I need to reinstall everything for some reason (done once and I was up running in abt 30 min from reinstalling Ubuntu to restored my HA config :grin:).
Note that this guide does not install Hassio. Just HA dockerized.

I am gonna read this guide, but i am a fresh user and Hassio seems much easier coz easier updates and easyinstall addons. I just want to stick with hassio instead HA.

I deleted docker containers, even folder hassio and after install tried to create user again but i got the same problem.

did you run the instally script as root?

Do u mean this command?

curl -sL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/home-assistant/hassio-build/master/install/hassio_install | bash -s