Hassio visible in network but web gui not accessible

Hi,

I am quite new to hassio and I have the following problem:

I falshed the hassio image on a 32GB SD card and I use it with my raspberry pi 3 model b+.

I can see hassio in my network when I logon to my router but I cannot access the webgui via :8123.

I only see a right light shining on my raspberry.

I already tried the following:

• other SD cards, all class 10
  • accessing via http://hassio.local:8123/
  • both of the images: Raspberry Pi 3 Model B and B+ 32bit (recommended) and Raspberry Pi 3 Model B and B+ 64bit
  • waiting more than 3 hours and not just 20 minutes after first installation

When I insert the SD card to my raspberry pi I see a couple of booting activities cause the green light flashes a couple of times but then it ends up that the red light is steadily on.

For me it’s strange that I see hassio in my network but can’t access the webgui.

Any ideas what I made wrong?

1 Like

Try accessing http://your_pi_ip_address_here:8123/

A note about this used to be in the getting started page, and it appears someone removed it at some point…

Hi Tom,

thanks for your help.
I tried this but unfortunately the webgui is still not reachable.

BR

Can you ping the pi from the PC you are trying to access it from?

Hi Tom,

yes, this is possible and I get a response from the pi.

BR

Don’t bother with 64 bit image.
The first thing you should see is the “setting up” page at ip_address:8123 and this should appear within minutes of booting the pi.

You can connect a keyboard and monitor directly to the pi to login as “root”. You will arrive at the Hassio CLI. From there, you can type “login” and continue to the host os. From the host console you can check network settings using nmcli, and check the time/date with date.

Hi cogneato,

if I type in login I get asked for a password. I don’t know which one to use.
Can you tell me?