HassOS crashing after a few hours after a clean install

Heya,

I’m fairly new to Home Assistant, I’ve been running HassOS on a Raspberry Pi 4 (4gb) for about 3 months now, and have had pretty consistent crashing issues. I’m not sure exactly when the crashing symptoms started because it’s been so long now, but it started off crashing every day or two, and now is crashing every few hours. My set up has never been to complicated, I have some of the basics set up like DuckDNS etc. and using a Conbee adaptor to communicate with a couple of Aqara devices that I have. Everything works pretty great except for the crashing.

I’ve read through a few similar posts and a lot of the advice was to try a better SD card, but I’ve tried a different SD card with a fresh install of HassOS and it’s still crashing after a few hours. I’ve reflashed it a few times using the latest image whilst trying some different things with no luck. I also recently tried the same SD card with Rasbian on it for a few days without any issues, so it looks to be something specific to HassOS (which doesn’t rule out my SD cards, but it’d be bad luck to have 2 dodgy SD cards).

At the moment I’ve stripped everything right back, nothing plugged in except the Ethernet cable and the power (and on a second reboot added HDMI to view the console when it crashed) and it’s still not lasting more than a few hours. Given that this is a brand new image it doesn’t seem to be specific to my HassOS config, but given that Raspbian worked flawlessly it doesn’t seem to be hardware related. It’s also the same symptoms on 2 separate SD cards so it doesn’t seem to be that, and I’m left without any further things to troubleshoot. Does anyone have any ideas on where to head from here?

When it crashes I can’t get any response from the device and the router loses it as well, which is a little bit different from some of the other crash reports I’ve seen.