Having Issues setting up/Adopting ESPHome onto Adafruit Feather ESP32S3 TFT

Hello Everyone,

I am new to ESPHome, ESP Devices, and Home Assistant in general, but I come from a programming background. I have been having some issues with setting up my Device via ESPHome and Home Assistant.

For Reference this is my device Adafruit ESP32-S3 TFT Feather - 4MB Flash, 2MB PSRAM, STEMMA QT : ID 5483 : $24.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits

• I already have ESPHome installed as an add-on via the add-on store(I also reinstalled it just in case).

• I connect to ESPHome via the web portal because my HA doesn’t have SSL yet, and try get started with it.

• I go through the options, select my device listed in the SErial POrt section, go to “make Adoptable” and i get error “Installation Failed. Try resetting your device or holding the BOOT button while selecting your serial port until it starts preparing the installation.”

I wasn’t sure what exactly they were referring to when “holding the boot button” when selecting the port, so I tried holding it in the port menu, as well as holding boot and then selecting the feather’s serial port and neither work.

Actually, sometimes if I hold boot too long, it will do something and give me an error that there is no serial connection or something and I cannot even get to the point to “make adoptable.” I also tried resetting the device and nothing happened.

I do also see this thread First ESPHome project (ESP32-S2 feather board) stuck on initial configuration install