Having issues using DataUpdateCoordinator

I’m trying to setup a platform that uses one API call to update multiple sensors. I have been directed toward using the DataUpdateCoordinator object to handle polling of the API then scheduling sensors to update based on the data it gets. It looks like a pretty slick thing to use, but I’m running into some issues.

The API library I’m using isn’t “async friendly” so I’m trying to write this platform without using async functions, but it appears that DataUpdateCoordinator needs an async function for it’s update_method parameter (I might be wrong though, the documentation I have doesn’t talk about that very much). That’s all I have been able to figure out. I’m fairly new to python (but not programming, I’m very versed in Java) and the whole concept of async programming, so please forgive my gaps of knowledge.

This is how I’m creating my coordinator.

async def async_poll_api(hass):
        #poll API here, grab the things I need from it, and set it to data
        return data

coordinator = DataUpdateCoordinator(
        hass,
        _LOGGER,
        name="sensor",
        update_method=async_update_data,
        update_interval=timedelta(seconds=30), 
    )

and I’m getting this error message

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/workspaces/core/homeassistant/setup.py", line 213, in _async_setup_component
    result = await task
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.8/concurrent/futures/thread.py", line 57, in run
    result = self.fn(*self.args, **self.kwargs)
  File "/workspaces/core/homeassistant/components/my_custom/__init__.py", line 141, in setup
  File "/workspaces/core/homeassistant/helpers/update_coordinator.py", line 57, in __init__
    request_refresh_debouncer = Debouncer(
  File "/workspaces/core/homeassistant/helpers/debounce.py", line 34, in __init__
    self._execute_lock = asyncio.Lock()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.8/asyncio/locks.py", line 164, in __init__
    self._loop = events.get_event_loop()