Hbridge motor - not understanding platform for pin a/b

I’m new to ESP32’s and ESPHome but, goodness me, it has been superb in getting started. I’m having a bit of a problem understanding how to use an hbridge (L298N) with my board to get a PWM controlled motor though, and hoping someone might be able to give some advice.

This is my config as it is:

output:
- platform: ledc
  pin: GPIO12
  id: motor_speed_pin
- platform:
  id: motor_forward_pin
  pin: GPIO5
- platform:
  id: motor_reverse_pin
  pin: GPIO4

fan:
- platform: hbridge
  id: my_fan
  name: "Speed"
  pin_a: motor_forward_pin
  pin_b: motor_reverse_pin
  enable_pin: motor_speed_pin
  decay_mode: slow   # slow decay mode (braking) or fast decay (coasting).

Using the h-bridge component for ESPHome.

The docs there not that pin_a and pin_b need to point to a float. I tried using platform: gpio but get:

ID ‘motor_forward_pin’ of type gpio::GPIOBinaryOutput doesn’t inherit from output::FloatOutput. Please double check your ID is pointing to the correct value.

Fair enough. So two questions:

1. I thought those pins on the h bridge were simply high or low and the “enable” pin can be used for PWM speed control. I don’t understand why the should be floats?
  2. What do I use for the platform? I can’t figure it out from the docs.

Many thanks,
Allan

1 Like

For platform use an output component that supports float ESPHome — ESPHome

Your motor forward and motor reverse pins should be platform “gpio”.

1 Like

I have this same issue and I do not believe this statement is correct. hbridge is expecting output:float and gpio can only be binary or switch.

I believe you are supposed to use a PWM. According to the ESPHome manual, you have three choices (not counting Slow PWM):

I tested only the first. The ESPHome documentation for the fan module is not optimal. Below is what worked for me:

output:
  # Leads (+) and (-) for motor
  - platform: esp8266_pwm
    id: mot_p
    pin: GPIO5
  - platform: esp8266_pwm