Help a newbie understand the possibilities of Home Assistant

Hello everyone! I’ll out myself, I’m a noob trying to understand if Home Assistant is what I’m looking for. I didn’t find the kind of information I need to solve my dilemma in the website, so I’m asking for your kind help to clear out my doubts by either directly answering my questions or pointing me the right direction to find already existing answers. I chose this section for what I’m asking is basically about how some specific hardware works with the system, and I didn’t find a mixed, newbie section for generic questions. Please forgive me and feel free to move my topic should another category suit it better.

I’m a FOSS enthusiast, partially allergic to proprietary and closed sourced protocols, and as a new home owner I’m interested in a few basic smart automation options. I’m excited by the prospect of building my partially-smart home myself, both for the control I’ll have over it, the understanding of the inner, under-the-hood workings and the exciting outlook of building something new. I have little experience about programming, but I’m a power user used (pun not intended) to tinker around, get his hands dirty and flash custom firmware, doing some mild hacking on devices. I’m not scared of headless systems, command lines and configuration files. I’m based in Italy.

Enough context, let’s get down to the matter. I’m currently getting some BTicino/Netatmo hardware to add some commodities to my home. Specficially, some smart outlets (L4531C) to monitor power drawing and energy consumption, some smart dimmers (L4411C) and smart two-way switches (L4003C) to control lights remotely. These three require a gateway (L4500C) which will connect to the wireless network and communicate with all modules via ZigBee.

First question: will an SBC with Home Assistant be able to substitute the official gateway, removing the need for it and controlling all modules via ZigBee itself?