Help configuring Envisalink?

Hello all,

I am very new to HA; I am considering migrating from Indigo, but first things first I need to make sure that my security system is up and running. I have a DSC alarm panel configured through the Envisalink service. It works fine through my Indigo plugin. I copied and pasted the YAML example configuration code straight from the Wiki, and changed only the host number, the username and password, the code, and the partition name (I have only one partition). I saved the configuration, restarted the server, and immediately tried to add an alarm panel card to a layout. Neither the “Arm Home” or “Arm Away” buttons seem to have any effect. How do I know if the Envisalink is properly connected, and what would be my next step after inserting the code into the config.yaml file?

Thanks so much for any and all help.

Take a look at your sensor.home_alarm_keypad entity, if you have configured correctly you should see the state indicated as ‘Ready’

• The configuration you are using above appears to be the ‘example’ from the integration, make sure you configure your zones correctly for the zones that you have connected to your DSC.

• Ensure that the Envisalink version in the config ‘evl_version’ matches your h/w. (latest ones are version 4)

1 Like

Beyond fixing this issue, I STRONGLY suggest setting a static IP for your envisalink when you get the chance

Hi Juan, thanks for the reply. Where are you looking there? Under Configuration > Entities, I see the following:

Hi Richie, thanks for the input. My router has reserved that LAN address for the Envisalink. Is that what you mean?

Ok clearly not set up correctly…

@mrdrennan
Go to Configuration -> Logs to see if you have any errors related to Envisalink. Also, your envisalink: portion in config.yaml minus your credentials should look something like this.

envisalink:
  host: 192.168.1.227
  panel_type: DSC
  user_name: !secret envisa_username
  password: !secret envisa_password