Help configuring Ewelink Automation "again"

This is my fist try at HA (Home Assistant). I tried OpenHab a few years ago and gave up but I feel a little better about HA. I have some Linux scripting background, tinkered with adriano among other things.

I have Samba working to access my Raspberry Pi 3 and Visual Studio configured for HA.

I have a Sonoff basic that I have configured in HA through the EWeLink interface and is working from the console. And I have connected my phone through my router to HA and can see when I come and go on the console. I would like to create an automation that turns on the lights and stereo when I drive into the garage.

I’ve been doing lots of reading and searching. I’m confused if I can use the easy GUI menus in Scenes and Automations or if I need to create scripts in the configurations and scenes YAML files. Or a hybread of both?

I was watching:
Location-based automations / device tracking in Home Assistant (2021 Guide)

And reading:
Help configuring Ewelink Automation

I started using the GUI method laid out in the video but I’m not sure if it will work/translate with the restrictions on the EWeLink interface. Maybe I need to switch to MQTT?

If I start trying to script I’ll need to do a good long read through the HA Script Syntax tutorial and maybe try to adapt the scripts written by Tiprin_Lujan form the above link.

Anyone have any advice on how I may move forward from here?

Thanks
Marc

I have a few Sonoff devices and they are all connected to my HA instance using this integration in HACS:
AlexxIT/SonoffLAN: Control Sonoff Devices with eWeLink (original) firmware over LAN and/or Cloud from Home Assistant (github.com)
One of the advantages is that the reaction time is very quick.