Help creating automation based on power usage

Hi all,

Ive done a bit of reading previous topics on this, but none really fit my situation.

I want to notify when my washing machine is done - I have a smart plug with power monitoring

The part that Im not sure how best to achieve, is what to base my notification on. As you can see, during a cycle the usage will drop to 0w many times and for varying lengths of time.

The cycle times would also vary depending on which wash type we use, so defining a static length of time before idle wouldnt work

Any thoughts on how to achieve this?

I would not know how to do this in Homeassistant (as I am a Noob here), but as an engineering problem:

• if state “idle”
    – wait for Power > 1800W
    – set state “heating”
    The heater is well detectable, and probably always present in a wash cycle.
    Unless it is a “cold wash”, but I never use those (fine wool needs it, but that goes to hand wash or dry cleaning, not in the machine).
    The ~2 kW usage is the heater. Hmm, interesting side note: german washing machines use 16A standard, typically 3 to 3.5 kW heaters. Machines for older-type wiring use 10A/2.2 kW; yours is more conservative than that…)
    – now wait for the falling flank of the heater use (drop to below 15W or so): set state “washing”

and that leaves detecting the greywater pump coming active.
But that comes on multiple times during the wash cycle, e.g. when swapping out the soap-water for fresh water.
In your posted power usage graph the final peak is about 200 Watts?
I am guessing that the greywater pump uses significantly less than 200W; so this would be a spin cycle?
But this is the highest peak after the heater, which is detectable.

If you are confident that every cycle ends with this 200W peak, I would implement another peak detection like

• if in state “washing” (as detected above with the heater-detection)
    – wait for >160W power,
    – set state “rinse_spin”
  • if in state “rinse_spin”