Help designing the steps to create a ble device from scratch

Hello, I’m new into the development of HA and devices but I have some programming background.

My idea to start learning while making something useful was to create a device to control the temperature of the heater in my house. There are some tado decices which cost around 30-50€ with zigbee, and considering I need 8 for my house it was a lot of money.

So here I start designing a prototype:

1. With a non smart TRV to get the motor, plastic and threads.
  2. I programmed an ESP32 to have to functions via Bluetooth to open or close the valve by turning the motor for some time in each direction with a driver.
  3. I may add a partially open valve status like 25,50,75%>

Now I have to see how can I intrgrate this with home assistant to create my automations there.

The design requirements:

1. As low energy as possible. That is why I started with BLE, they will be powered with 2 AA batteries.
  2. Need to be reachable with the raspberry.

So my ideas now where:

1. Create an integration in HA that uses a script in python that I wrote to test the Bluetooth connection. Issues: No experience with creating integrations, I may be trying to reinvent the wheel, the heaters may be too far away to be reached with the raspberry.
  2. Use another esp32 plugged to act as a proxy between the Bluetooth device and the raspberry using another protocol and integration. Maybe reuse some MQTT. Issues: I,m not sure if I can use Bluetooth and WiFi simoultaniously in the esp32. I,m not sure how could I add devices without reprogramming the esp. I’m not sure how to start with this. Do I need to write anyway a new integratio?

I’d appreciate some hints in which direction to go. I don’t need code but an idea of what is easier and reliabile to start with, as starting with HA is a bit overwhelming.

Just a couple of points…