Help needed -- various errors, tried to restore, now everything seems to be going wrong

I feel like I’ve created some sort of down spiral since yesterday. I had a few weird errors that popped up yesterday. I didn’t quite understand how they came about, but I decided (because I’m a noob) to just restore my backup from 2 days ago.

I let it “restore” all night, from a 285mb backup. I’m running my system on a Rpi4 SD card, and have never had any serious issues. Been running for about 6 months so far. This morning, I realized I was still not able to connect to HA. I could see that the Rpi was still connected to my router though. In what was either genius or pure self-destruction, I turned the Rpi off, then on again. HA booted up, with few small issues (like Smartthings integration not connecting, which I’ve read is common after a restore.) I removed and reconnected the integration. Things were good.

Then upon restart (since smartthings hadn’t fully loaded yet), I got a few configuration errors with my automations. I made sure all of my smartthings devices reloaded, restarted, then everything seemed to work, again!

Doing a little bit of tinkering and changing some of my media player automations, I also updated HACS, and restarted without any issue. I went to perform a full backup, and this is where my troubles began again. The backup failed. I checked around, and saw the following:

Error loading /config/configuration.yaml: unacceptable character #x0000: special characters are not allowedin “/config/automations.yaml”, position 0

My automations all still show up on the tab, but when I opened file editor on my phone, the automations.yaml appeared blank. So I went back to my computer, and this time I tried to run Studio Code Server, which gave me the following error:

Failed to start add-on