Help on controlling more than one entity with button

Hello,

I am in the process of migrating from SmartThings to Home Assistant. Until I get a Zigbee stick I will be using the SmartThings integration. I was able to configure in automations.yaml a button that turns on a light on or off depending on the state of the button (value = pushed, or double)

What I haven’t figured out is how to control more than one light with the push of a button. Could I replace the entity with a scene, for example called MezzanineLights? I was able to configure scenes that does this, works great in Lovelace.

Also, how would I go about if I would like to associate more than one entity to the push of a button?

Would it be possible to adjust the code snippet below for both scenarios? Trying to learn, perhaps I didn’t look at the right place, but as a beginner I feel that often the documentation assumes one is past the beginner stage and knows what to do. As others pointed out, the learning curve is very steep for a beginner, every step is a struggle (in my case that included setting up duckdns, getting a smarthings token, figuring out how to edit automations.yaml…).

Thanks!

Code snippet:

• id: MezzanineButtonPressedOnce
    alias: Mezzanine Button Pressed Once
    trigger:
    platform: event
    event_type: smartthings.button
    event_data:
    device_id: xxxxxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxx-xxxxxxx
    value: pushed
    action:
    • data_template:
      entity_id: light.mezzanine
      service_template: light.turn_on

You don’t need data template.

action:
  - service: light.turn_on
    target:
      entity_id:
        - light.mezzanine
        - light.another_light
        - light.a_third_light

You can also turn on an entire area (if you have set up areas). Go in to developer tools and service calls, and choose light.turn_on, and then pick the area you want, and then change the view in to YAML mode and copy the area id. Then your automation would look something like this:

action: