Help request to install Two Way RTI Proxy Script

I’m a newbie around here so I apologise if this post is in the wrong place. I posted in uncategorised but alas in spite of many views no responses were forthcoming :cry:
I am trying to install and get working the script below but have been unable to get past the first line error. I am assuming the script is syntactically correct and that I am installing it incorrectly.
Can someone tell me if this script should run in a normal python environment or does it need home assistant appdaemon?

Any pointers will be much appreciated.

import homeassistant.remote as remote
import socket
api = remote.API('https://ADDRESS.duckdns.org', 'PASSWORD', 443) # ('HA Address', 'HA Password', HA Port)
print(remote.validate_api(api))
HOST = ""
PORT = 4999 # Listening Port

# Retrieve input from RTI
# RTI 2-Way driver comand srting syntax examples:
#   ,media_player*select_source*entity_id*media_player.living_room_tv*source*Netflix^
#   ,vacuum*turn_on*entity_id*vacuum.roomba**^
def msg_to_hass(strCommand):
    domain = strCommand.split("*")[0] # HA Domain
    service = strCommand.split("*")[1] # HA Service
    field = strCommand.split("*")[2] # HA Field1
    device = strCommand.split("*")[3] # HA Field1 Value
    field2 = strCommand.split("*")[4] # HA Field2
    device2 = strCommand.split("*")[5] # HA Field2 Value
    data = {}   # initialize dictionary
    data[field] = device # insert field 1 and value into dictionary
    data[field2] = device2 # insert field 2 and value into dictionary
    new_data={k:data[k] for k in data if data[k]} # Remove blank entries from data dictionary and save as new_data
    print(domain, service, new_data) # print domain, service, and data to send to HA
    remote.call_service(api, domain, service, new_data) # send command to HA
    state = remote.get_state(api, device) # request device state from HA
    print(state) # Print state of HA Device

def create_listen_socket(host, port):