Help setting up Sunsynk Addon

Hi. I’m new to Home Assistant and trying to get the Sunsynk multi addon to work. I have a RS485-USB adapter as per the doucmentation, but struggling to understand the steps needed to integrate this addon. Obviously the documentation assumed a certain amount if knowledge that I don’t have!

I’ve set up MQTT (I think) and am trying to start the SUnsynk addon but get:

" Device ‘/dev/ttyAMA0’ does not exist in Sunsynk/Deye Inverter Add-on (multi) (4bb530c7_hass-addon-sunsynk-multi). "

Any thoughts?

Make sure you select something in the DEBUG_DEVICE (at the bottom of the config page)

Can you share your Inverters config?

Thanks for the quick reply. I’ve got to the next stage now, but I think the step I’m stuck on just now is the inverter port as this is throwing an error in the log. How do I find this port?

Did you look at the DEBUG_DEVICE?

Yeah, realised the RS485-USB hadn’t loaded properly. Got a stage further now, switched on the debug, error log:

2023-05-19 17:00:23,517 WARNING Executing <Task finished name='Task-2' coro=<uSunsynk.read_holding_registers() done, defined at /usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/sunsynk/usunsynk.py:59> exception=SerialException(5, "could not open port /dev/serial/by-id/usb-1a86_USB_Serial-if00-port0: [Errno 5] I/O error: '/dev/serial/by-id/usb-1a86_USB_Serial-if00-port0'") created at /usr/local/lib/python3.9/asyncio/tasks.py:462> took 6.942 seconds
2023-05-19 17:00:23,519 ERROR   Read Error: <class 'Exception'>: (1,3,5) [Errno 5] could not open port /dev/serial/by-id/usb-1a86_USB_Serial-if00-port0: [Errno 5] I/O error: '/dev/serial/by-id/usb-1a86_USB_Serial-if00-port0'
2023-05-19 17:00:23,543 INFO    ############################################################
2023-05-19 17:00:23,543 INFO    No response on the Modbus interface serial:///dev/serial/by-id/usb-1a86_USB_Serial-if00-port0, try checking the wiring to the Inverter, the USB-to-RS485 converter, etc