Help with Automation for timed switch in hassio. Total Newb

Hi Guys,

Just wondering if anyone can help me.

I am using a sonoff SV as I only require 12v to be switched. I have set it up so it has 2 switches. A main switch to turn on the christmas audio and a secondary which I am using as an automation timer.

I am trying to run an automation so when I push the secondary switch the audio for my Christmas lights turns on for a set period of time. but if i hit the normal switch it stays on consistently.

I am trying to remove any bugs at the moment as I have the timer working. I am most likely going to get multiple button pushes from the people coming to see the lights which is where I am having the issue.

the bug I am trying to sort is if the secondary button is pushed the audio turns on for a given period but if the secondary button is pushed within the given period of time the timer has no effect and the audio stays turned on.

How do I make the timer persistent so that even if the secondary switch is toggled to off the main switch still turns off after the given period of time but if the secondary switch is toggled back to on the timer starts again?

I don’t want to set a timer on the main switch as i want to be able to turn the audio on constantly if required.

I hope that makes sense.

Here is my mqtt switch config:

switch:
  - platform: mqtt
    name: "Christmas Audio"
    command_topic: "cmnd/christmas_audio/power1"
    state_topic: "stat/christmas_audio/POWER1"
    qos: 1
    payload_on: "ON"
    payload_off: "OFF"
    retain: true
  - platform: mqtt
    name: "Christmas Audio Timed"
    command_topic: "cmnd/christmas_audio/power2"
    state_topic: "stat/christmas_audio/POWER2"
    qos: 1
    payload_on: "ON"
    payload_off: "OFF"
    retain: true

Here are the automation’s:

- id: 'Christmas Light Audio On'
  alias: Christmas Audio On
  trigger:
  - entity_id: switch.christmas_audio_timed
    platform: state
    to: 'on'
  action: