Help with automation of sprinklers by season

Hi,
I am very new to HA and have got myself tangled trying to work out a way of automating my garden sprinklers so I am seeking your expert advice.
The overall ‘when’ to turn them on will be a schedule of some sort. And only one at a time - for water flow reasons
I cant conceptualise how to deal with the 2 dimensional nature of the duration they should be on for which varies by season

Device          Spring/Autumn  Summer   Winter
Ferns              10             18      3 
Veg2                8             15      3 
Veg1               20             20      3 
GeneralWhite        5              7      3 
GeneralGreen        5             15      5

And these are not actuually devices? entities? in HA. There is a 2nd Raspberry with a relay hat that does the physical switching
This reacts to Mqtt messages sent by HA and, practically speaking, only has 2 commands
watering/Ferns (Yellow)/ON
watering/Ferns (Yellow)/OFF

I setup a dropdown helper to define the current ‘season’. I think is accessed like
{ states("input_select.watering_season_2") }
I would prefer the durations to be in a variable of some kind rather than buried in code as they do get tinkerred with a bit depending actual rainfall
so I thought of 15 variables

Spring/Autumn/Ferns         10  
Spring/Autumn/GeneralGreen  5
Spring/Autumn/GeneralWhite  5
Spring/Autumn/Veg1          20
Spring/Autumn/Veg2          8
Summer/Ferns                18
Summer/GeneralGreen         15
Summer/GeneralWhite         7
Summer/Veg1                 20
Summer/Veg2                 15
Winter/Ferns                3
Winter/GeneralGreen         5
Winter/GeneralWhite         3
Winter/Veg1                 3
Winter/Veg2                 3

but then the automation looks messy to me. Allowing one for each area eg ‘Ferns’
In pseudo code it would be

trigger - schedule
    condition - water is needed
    action 
        send 'ON' mqtt message