Help with condensing automations

I’m new to Home Assistant, and it’s been quite a challenge getting up and running compared to other home automation platforms. I’ve been able to make some progress on a somewhat advance automation. It works, but one thing that bothers is the growing number of automations in my automation list. Take this for example:

- id: '1'
  alias: Master Bath- Someone Is Sleeping (Turn On)
  trigger:
    platform: state
    entity_id: light.master_bath_vanity_lights
  condition:
    condition: template
    value_template: "{{ trigger.from_state is not none and\n   trigger.from_state.state\
      \ == 'on' and\n   trigger.to_state\
      \ is not none and\n   trigger.to_state.attributes.brightness > 254 and\n   trigger.to_state.state == 'on' }}\n"
  action:
  - service: switch.turn_off
    target:
      entity_id: switch.someone_is_sleeping_virtual_switch
- id: '2'
  alias: Master Bath- Someone Is Sleeping (Turn Off)
  trigger:
    platform: state
  condition:
    condition: template
    value_template: "{{ trigger.from_state is not none and\n   trigger.from_state.state\
      \ == 'on' and\n   trigger.from_state.attributes.brightness > 254 and\n   trigger.to_state\
      \ is not none and\n   trigger.to_state.state == 'off' }}\n"
  action:
  - service: switch.turn_on
    target:

I’m using the same trigger twice. How can I condense this down to a single automation using an if statement?

Trigger on the light state (one automation is to ‘off’, the other to ‘on’) then use conditions.

You want your triggers to be as specific as possible.

Also, what is with all the new line characters in your templates?

Thanks for the reply. I’m trying to avoid multiple instances of the same trigger, if possible. I’m also trying to learn if statements in HA, but I’m not sure how I would do it using these value templates. May be more aggravation than it’s worth, but HA has been all baby steps anyway. So I’m really not sure at this point, lol.