Help with Data template on Scripts

Hi All,
I am new to home assistant. I am trying to setup a light template. In this light template I wanted to use a script to set the levels of the light group, I am following steps from the light template Documentation however having issues in setting this script.

Can someone tell me what am I doing wrong in the “data_template” section?

I wanted the brightness to be set only if the brightness value is send, same for others , Primary idea is to call this script from a light template’s “set_level”

script_living_room_lights_level:
  alias: Script Living Room Lights Level
  sequence:
    - service: switch.turn_on
      target:
        entity_id: switch.living_room_recess_switch_1_mss510x_main_channel
    - service: switch.turn_on
      target:
        entity_id: switch.living_room_recess_switch_2_mss510x_main_channel
    - service: light.turn_on
      data_template:
        {% if brightness is defined and brightness|length %}
          brightness: {{brightness}}
        {% endif %}
        {% if h is defined and h|length %}
          hs_color: {{ h }}/{{ s }}
        {% endif %}
        {% if white_value is defined and white_value|length %}
          white: {{ white_value }}
        {% endif %}
        {% if color_temp is defined and color_temp|length %}
          color_temp: {{ color_temp }}
        {% endif %}
      target:
        entity_id: light.livingroom_bulbs
  mode: single
  icon: mdi:lightbulb-on

You have attempted to use a template to create options. That’s not a valid operation.

You can only template values for options. For example:

data:
  brightness: "{{ template can go here to compute a value for the brightness option }}"

You can’t use templates to decide if options and other YAML statements should or should not be used (like what you did in your posted example). For example, this is not valid:

# You cannot use templates to generate YAML statements
data:
  {% if some test is true then use this option %}