Help with Docker ports?

Hi All,

I’ve spent 24 hours going through all of the possible ways to install HA on my Mac server, and followed a million online tutorials, but nothing seems to get me up and running completely!
I’ve settled on Docker - as this seems to get me closest to a running HA installation - I can get to the web portal and it can see my Tradfri and Hue devices all OK. YAY!!

I’m having issues with the Homekit integration though, and it seems that the problem I’m coming across might be tied to Mdns & Port forwarding to the docker container (although I’m not certain).

I think I’ve managed to forward 8123 and 51827 to the docker, - at least they are showing as forwarding in Portainer. However - I can’t get it to show up in the home app.
As a side note, HA doesn’t appear to be able to see my LIFX lights either, which seems to point to it being a port forwarding issue.

I’m a complete noob with Docker, and this is the first time I’ve done anything with it.
Can someone tell me how I might either expose all ports to the docker container, or a subset so that it might work?

Or - give me some troubleshooting to see if we can work out how to get it going!!

Thanks in advance

add this to your docker run command:

--net=host

it exposes all ports on the host to the container.

Yep --net=host is the only solution for multicasts on docker. Multicasts are essentially broadcasts and can’t be forwarded to another subnet. You have to use the real host address which is what net=host does.