Help with LED and switch

Hello all.
I am a newb and just starting to play around with Homeassistant/ESPhome. I have a very simple application that I would like to design and am looking for some advice. Here is what I would like to do:

Wemos D1 mini 1
(Push a button wired to it)

Wemos D1 mini 2
(LED wired to it)

Whenever the pushbutton on the Wemos 1 is pressed, light up the attached LED on Wemos 2.
If the pushbutton on Wemos 1 is not pressed, do NOT light up the LED on Wemos 2.

I think this is fairly simple, but despite searching, I am struggling. Can anyone offer some advice? I have both successfully connected to Homeassistant and I can see them in my interface. In fact, the pushbutton shows its status in the interface perfectly, but the LED is not working. Below are my current attempts for each Wemos.

===============
Wemos 1:

binary_sensor:

• platform: gpio
    name: “Lock”
    pin:
    number: D3
    inverted: True
    mode: INPUT_PULLUP
    on_state:
    then:
    - output.turn_on: lockled

===============
Wemos 2:

binary_sensor:

• platform: gpio
    name: “LockLED”
    id: lockled
    pin:

===============

Thanks!

Please learn how to properly quote your code.

The devices do not communicate with each other or have share namespace like lockled in your example.

But home assistant is the way to do it.

ESP1 needs to set a entity in HA to on. Like a binary sensor.

And ESP2 needs to read the state of this sensor and do the action.
Change the platform of #2 to homeassistant and it should read what #1 does.

platform: homeassistant
entity_id: binary_sensor.NameOf#1BinarySenorInHomeAssistant

Upload the codes and enter the log window of #2 and see if the code works when you press #1 button.

1 Like

Sorry, I suppose neither of you understood my current situation. Both devices are recognized in Homeassistant, but I am having trouble with them working together in the way that I would like. Here is the complete code:

Wemos 1

esphome:
  name: frontdoor