Help: Z-Wave JS UI Addon breaking my system

Hey,

I’ve been using Z-wave JS UI addon for a couple of years. In the last few months I did not instal the updates and after that, things got bad. I’ve tried to document it here, but the thread is long and messy and I thought maybe I can get help if I start a new one.

I have basically two issues:

• The Z-Wave JS UI addon is in a bad state. I’m running a somewhat fresh version, 3.9.2. Any attempt to reboot or edit the config of the addon (internal addon config through its UI, not the external addon config in the system settings) makes the whole system to freeze, and I need to hard-reboot the virtual machine.
    • As a side effect of the one above, any attempt to reboot my Home Assistant also fails, as it tries to stop this addon
    • Similarly, I can’t install updates, of the addon because it tries to stop the addon first
    • The logs do not show anything too significant before the freeze, just the expected action taken before it. I’ve checked both the JSUI Addon logs and the journalctl system logs
  • If I force the update, the addon will no longer start. I can update the addon by setting it not to start at boot, then hard-rebooting, and then installing the update without the addon being running. But after that, any attempt to start the addon results in the following error
s6-rc-compile: fatal: invalid /etc/s6-overlay/s6-rc.d/discovery/type: must be oneshot, longrun, or bundle
s6-rc: fatal: unable to take locks: No such file or directory
s6-linux-init-shutdownd: warning: /run/s6/basedir/scripts/rc.shutdown exited 111

Finally, I’ve tried several times to fully remove and re-install the addon. Without installing a backup, the addon works normally, but as soon as I restore the settings (settings.json), it starts failing again.

I also did a fresh install and manually set all the settings up through the UI, but I ended up in the same place.