Hiring a consultant to automate my house

Hi there! I am moving into a big house in the SF bay area and am looking for a consultant who would be excited to build out a complete HA system for it.

Scope is roughly: Lutron lights and blinds, HVAC, audio, sensors, garage doors, homekit integration, 3-4 custom dashboards, doorbell, security cameras.

I’m an experienced programmer but don’t have time to do all this myself. Will pay well!

This topic has been up many times.
The general answer is, it’s not a good idea.
Even if we assume the best of all worlds and HA is 100% stable then the devices may cause issues and/or APIs change and it’s in need of fixing.

I understand your answer is I’ll pay for that too.
But what if the"issue" is a TTS message is repeating all the time and all lights is flashing non stop, and your “fixer” is on holliday?

I strongly advise against a smart home if you don’t know how it was built.
And if you still must, then get a company to do it that has staff and 24 h service.

2 Likes

I’m capable of fixing things myself, so I’d also pay the person to explain it all to me and tutor me on the basics so I can do that.

1 Like

I would suggest to take a raspberry PI and do it yourself. Hassio is super simple to install and community is very supportive.
take the opportunity to leverage your knowledge and do it yourself.
:slight_smile: at the end, you would be a happy master

The replies to this thread so far are pretty strong evidence that we are truly in the era of full employment when it comes to technical skills.

1 Like

ahahah … quite true ahahah

Could I ask why you want a smart home?

Not a criticism in any way. It’s just that for many (most?) of us, doing it ourselves is the point. We might as well be building scale models of the Taj Mahal out of matchsticks (quoting my wife here…).

I’d be genuinely interested in an objective view of what the real value of a smart home is.