Home Assistant Core crashed my server

Help. Bit of a novice here. Bought an HP machine that was already formatted as HA server with os onboard. Upgraded HAC today and now server cannot be found via app or browser. Have done three hard reboots. I have a backup on Google Drive, but don’t know how to use it if I can’t talk to the server.

Any help greatly appreciated as most of the house was migrated to this and was awesome!

Start by hooking up a monitor to see what’s going on.

I would never use a used PC with previous OS installed. Always wipe and replace. You never know what minor changes may have been made and honestly will save time.

Also. Is this HAOS or HA Core? It almost sound like you using HaOS.

Thanks! I think it was HAOS. It was the only OS on the machine. Installed the app, it searched the network and found it quickly. Never had to touch it so not sure. Worked amazingly well for about 5 months and then today bricked it.

Wasn’t sure if HAOS was an OS that supported peripherals, etc. Dumb, I know, but it has always been a headless server for me. I’ll bring it to my docking station and see what I can find.

Did one last reboot and somehow it fixed this issue… Strange in that it’s never given me a lick of trouble until today’s update.

Hey there. Sorry, summer got in the way. Yes, this was a clean install of HaOS. Still having issue of crashing. Strangest thing. Nothing changed since last monthly update…

Tell us a little more about your environment. :slight_smile: Eg. what’s that HP machine? Is it an old laptop, a Mini-PC? And what’s inside, RAM, SDD (or other storage), all these things. :slight_smile:

As you don’t know, how this machine was setup, I’d suggest you do a fresh install and restore your recent backup. :slight_smile: That way you can avoid any problems, that might came with the previous install (where you don’t know anything about).

Here’s the link to the documentation on how to install HA-OS on a bare metal PC: