Home Assistant doesn't show up on network on first boot

I’ve been using Home Assistant for several years but I’m lost here and would appreciate any help.

A few months ago my home assistant installation suddenly failed after working flawlessly for many years. I’ve done a post here about it (though it seems to have been used as an umbrella post for several other problems from other users): HA stops working. Supervisor: Disconnected

I haven’t had the time to troubleshoot and I decided it was best to just install a new instance of home assistance and recover with the latest backup. So I installed a new sd card following the official documentation here:

The problem is that when booting up for the first time the new installation doesn’t even show up on the network.

• I’ve tried different ethernet cables
  • I’ve tried a different (new) power supply
  • I’ve tried a different (new) Raspberry Pi 3B+
  • I’ve tried a different (new) sd card (sandisk extreme 64gb)
  • I’ve tried changing ethernet ports on the switch it is connected to (it’s always been connected to that switch, and other devices connected are working fine).

And the result is always the same - the device doesn’t even show up on the network (logging in to the Asus router I use).

The only other thing I can think of is that home assistant is not using DHCP by default (my network is configured on the 172.xx.x.xxx subnet and the rpi is configured with a static address in the router), but I find it unbelievable that was the case. Has there been any recent change to the OS in that it comes shipped with a default static ip address?

I’ve run out of ideas. I was sure it was the sd card that failed after many years working flawlessly, but the problem is apparently somewhere else.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

172 is the same IP range docker uses. I can see potential issues using this range as your network range.