Home Assistant on docker on Pi4 (32bit)

Hi guys. I initially bought a RPi4 to run OpenMediaVault. In it I found out about Docker (managed through Portainer). I soon installed HA not knowing it would have been the Core version. After more than an year living without any issues with the absence of Supervisor, I found an add-on that needs it (and cannot be installed just as a container). So I would like to install supervisor in docker (to keep everything tidy and easy). How can I do it without loosing all my setup?
Thank you

1 Like

Not possible unless you decide to put your HA on a different RPI4 since your current one already run OMV.

Which add-on is this?

It’s a closed source private one, to control an alarm system

I’ve seen this: Install Home Assistant on Linux/Docker with Supervisor (how to get add ons!) - Ubuntu 20.04 - YouTube and hoped I could do the same for my application, but I’m not a linux expert…

I’m not saying you cant install Supervisor version on the RPI4. You just can have OMV together in the same RPI4 or unless you want to redo everything? Furthermore Supervised required Debian which is available for RPI4 but unsure about OMV and again unsure about how good will both system run together in one RPI4

Can you provide a link to the add-on?

In the video he installs Supervised HA completely in docker as far as I can get, so why wouldn’t OMV and HA coexist?

It’s not even public atm… But that’s not the point (the developer is trying to make it work on docker by itself right now, but I would like to have Supervisor anyway)

1 Like

Supervised is only supported on Debian, with any other base OS you’ll have issues going forward.

An add-on is always based on a docker container by the way. Also in my opinion it’s a d**k move to let people pay for an add-on for a free, open-source automation system. I’m also wondering how he even wants to do this…