Home Assistant on easy mode for intel NUC and Ubuntu Server

Hi

i was running HA on a virtualbox on my pc, fiddling with esphome and some other bits, but now i have a load of wifi plugs, some lights, some nfc tags, and an intel NUC5 i7 and i want an always-on solution (pc in my room goes off when i sleep).

i want to use the NUC for more than HA - also pihole, a rudimentary NAS, and whatever else might come to mind really, so i thought docker was the way for me.

i’ve installed ubuntu server, and docker-compose + portainer, i’ve got esphome installed, and tbh i just can’t be bothered with it all. i’m pretty new to linux, totally new to docker (although i think i have my head vaguely around that now) but in short i want the nice guis, and the addon-store, and all the sugar all the kind devs of the world have sprinkled around for noobs like me.

i looked at adding supervisor to my docker install but people seem to recommend strongly against that because of redundant containerisation.

what’s the best approach - i’ve just installed virtualbox from cli and installed hass os on a vm, planning to install docker-compose to handle pihole and whatever else - is this going to be the best way for me to get an assisted experience of HA with minimum excess compute overhead?

thanks

IMHO, Virtualization takes up too much resources compared to docker. I think learning a few linux commands and getting familiar with docker / portainer is the way to go. I have been running the HA Docker for a few years now and I have never missed the addon-store. I have managed to do everything I have needed with HACS and installed other docker containers as required to achieve what I need. I have an I7 PC always ON that has expaned over time and is now running 29 Containers.
Some of the containers I can no longer do without are

- Home Assistant
- PiHole (handles my DNS / DHCP / Addblocking)
- Frigate (for my HA cameras)
- Snapcast (for my whole house Audio)