Home Assistant OS on a small PC with an AMD E350 APU?

Hi,
I am completely new to Home Assistant and IoT, and to learn I want to install Home Assistant on an old FoxConn Nettop PC.
This nT-A3500 system has an AMD E350 dual core APU, an AMD A45 FCH chipset, 4 GB RAM and an 80GB SATA SSD.

I followed the steps for the “Generic x86-64” installation.
To flash the image I temporarily removed the SATA SSD and connected it to my Windows PC using a SATA-to-USB adapter.
Flashing with Balena Etcher went OK I think, including the verification phase.
However, the Nettop PC does not boot from the SSD at all. I am sure that the SSD is set as boot drive in the BIOS, so that should be OK.

Should this configuration be possible?
If not, what would be the next step I could try? I would prefer a direct installation of Home Assistant OS, but if this is not possible with my current system I could may be try the Container option with ProxMox? OR are there better options?

The image designed for the Intel NUC may not have kernel support for an AMD CPU.

You might be better installing a vanilla Debian image and then installing Home Assistant.

Thanks.
Why would that be a better option than using ProxMox?

Hi,
An update to my trials.
I do have another small PC with an Intel CPU. This is an Atom D525 dual core, with ICH8M chipset and 4 GB RAM.
To check it, I inserted the same 80GB SSD that I flashed with Home Assistant OS in this PC, but it does not boot at all either. So it might be that the SSD is incorrectly flashed?
Just to be clear: I connected the SSD to the internal SATA connector (I don’t want to boot through an USB connection).

So my question now is: is it possible at all to install Home Assistant OS by flashing a 2.5” SATA SSD with Balena Etcher using a SATA-to-USB adapter, and than boot from it via the SATA connector?

It all depends on what you want/need: the advantage to run multiple virtual machines with all the possibilities of Proxmox or not, no?