Home Assistant Owntone (known as forked-daapd)

Hello, i’m new to HA and this forum and i chose HA because i would like to have a smart home that i can configure only in the browser and don’t need to code so much anymore and has support for the most common smart devices in the market. So far, HA fulfill all my requirements and my smart home works fine.

Unfortunately, when i started working with TTS (Text to speech) i didn’t found any solution where i can configure my home pods and provide a music library to my network. The latest forked-daapd addon i found was not updated since 10 month and even was hard to configure.

Therefore i would like to share with you my new addon, that uses the latest version of owntone (forked-daapd) and is easier to configure and the interface is integrated in HA.

I would like to have feedback if you think this add on is helpfull. More importent, i need some information if chromecast and spotify works with this add on - i don’t have this and couldn’t test it.

Thanks a lot

• to all that will check this add on
  • to all that wrote messages in that forum that helped me already to setup my smart home

Marcel

1 Like

Hi Marcel
thanks a lot for this add-on. I was playing a bit also in combination with the forked-daapd integration. I am trying to get TTS to work. Whenever I am sending a TTS to my homepods the web interface of owntone crashes and I need to restart the add-on to get access to the web interface again. Previously I used forked-daapd in a docker and it crashed similarly after a TTS message. The TTS message i have created over the tile or via script. Both lead to a crash. Also I have not yet figured out, how I send a TTS only to one home pod. Do you have an idea?
Thanks hemy

Hey, thanks for your answer. This AddOn is only a wrapper around owntone. I think this question needs to be ask in their channel → GitHub - linuxserver/docker-daapd