Home Assistant Publish MQTT for a "Physical Switch"

Hello Everyone,

I am pretty new to Home Assistant, so please bear with me. What I’m trying to accomplish is manipulating a “Physical Switch” from HomeSeer to Home Assistant. All the documentation on MQTT that I see on Home Assistant seems to cover how to subscribe and publish to switch over MQTT switches that aren’t seen as "Physical on Home Assistant.

Basically what I am looking to do is control this switch created with Home Assistant. The purpose of this switch is to turn on and turn off my Xiaomi Mi Smart Vac. The switch works great as I was able to follow the documentation (with some modifications of my own) to get it to work. Now this switch is viewed as “switch.vacuum” under entities in HomeSeer.

My MQTT broker itself is all set up properly. I have a MQTT broker that is all set up in Home Assistant and I’m using a MQTT plugin in HomeSeer. I can verify HomeSeer connects in properly. I am just not sure how to proceed from here. If I had to take a guess, I believe I would have to set up a MQTT switch, but not sure how to connect it to the physical switch I have in Home Assistant. Ideally, I would like to communicate the status and other values that the Home Assistant Vacuum Switch I created has. Please see the screen shot of what I have. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

49 PM

The instructions for setting up an MQTT switch in HA are here It doesn’t matter whether the switch is physical or ephemeral, HA will just send MQTT messages to turn it on or off.

However, you seem to have more than that, so I’m not entirely sure that is really what you need. If you could explain your set up a little more, it would be useful. Where does HomeSeer fit in? Is that picture from HA or HomeSeer?

I too had trouble understanding the setup. I’m not familiar with HomeSeer but wanted to add that the mqtt switch in Home Assistant can get an “update” from another source to correct the state in Home Assistant.