HomeAssistant and HomeMatic IP - do I need the CCU or can I use it directly with RasbPi / HA?

Hi there,

I am new to HomeAssistant - I tried to read the Docs etc. but I guess I was not too successful :see_no_evil: And I am not really sure if configuration is the right spot for this (but 3rd party integration or hardware neither).
At the beginning, Iā€™d like to use HA mainly for Heating Control (Smart Radiator Valves), later on I might extend it to oil and water tank level monitoring, lighting control, etc. Thatā€™s also the main reason to go with HA instead of a ā€œcompleteā€ product like Netatmo.

What I want in the beginning (basic heating):

• Read temperature values (current, set) of valves (e.g. every 15 minutes, or if it changes) and story it for historical data
  • Set temperature values of valves (or group of valves if multiple in one room)
  • React to manual temperature change at a valve (e.g. set the temperature for the room / all vavles to the changed value, or maybe only this one, donā€™t know yet)
  • Read temperature values from wall thermostat (again, to set room temperature on group of valves)
  • Define time schedules to automatically lower temperature during the day (no one at home) or night (sleep mode)
  • Define different modes: winter mode (normal heating with schedules), holiday mode (lower temperatures in general), summer mode (no heating/disabled)

Later on, I might want to add:

• Heating oil tank level monitoring (e.g. read level every 6 hours)
  • Water flow monitoring of the main pipe
  • Rain-water tank level monitoring (e.g. read level every 1 hour)
  • Control lighting (light switches, light bulbs)
  • Maybe control some devices with power plugs
  • Other stuff like automatically water plants and so on ā€¦ but waaaay in the future :slight_smile: