Homematic - Add timer to command

Hi All!

I am new to Homeassistant and to this community and both are really great!

As i have been running FHEM for 10+ years now i am now in the process of transitioning over to homeassistant. In general i have not encountered any bigger roadblocks but now i have somewhat hit a problem that i cannot come to a good solution for.

My smart-home has historically grown and has all kinds of components - FS20, Intertechno, TASMOTA-Wifi-Stuff, Hue, Tradfri and a large homematic setup. FHEM used to serve as the thing that keeps everything together and now i want to move this role over to Homeassistant.

I have one “automation” that triggers the lights to go on for a specific period when the front door gets opened from the “outside”. The lights are also directly bound to movement sensors in the specific rooms - ie Tradfri Sensor with Tradfri bulb, Homematic Sensor with homematic bulb - direct pairing, no central computersystem involved.

What i cannot accomplish now is to trigger the homematic lights to be turned on in a way that if the movement detector detects movement after the initial period (eg 5 minutes after opening the door) it will keep refreshing the on-command and homeassistant will not turn it of after the 5 minute timer has expired.

I saw this post here: Homematic Switch - "on for" timer

The problem is, that once the movement detector takes over Homeassistant would still turn the light off unless i do complicated tracking with automations based on the movement detector events or switch events. What i used to have in fhem is to just say turn the light on-for-timer 300. That way the device did the accounting and the movement detector just reset this timer whenever it sensed something.

I hope the explanation makes sense and that someone here has a “nice” way of solving this :slight_smile:

Thanks + best regards

Michael

1 Like