HomeSeer SmartStick G8 Installation/Configuration

I am new to Home Assistant but have been using a HomeSeer system (Raspberry Pi box, not a USB stick) for several years. Of course, rather than using one of the plug and play HA options, I decided to setup my own HA system from the bottom up. I am using the following equipment/software:

Mini PC (AMD Ryzen 9, 32 GB DDR5, 1 TB SSD, 4X USB3.2, 2X USB4, 2X HDMI 2.1, WiFi 6E)
Windows 11
VMware Workstation Pro 17.0 for Personal Use (Windows)
HomeSeer 800 Series SmartStick G8 LR
Z-Wave JS UI (Z-Wave-JS not installed.)

I have HA installed and working on the VMware virtual machine. I’ve been able to access/control my newer Philips Hue and Leviton devices in HA without any issues. Our MyQ garage door openers are a project for another day. However, my “legacy” devices are all Z-Wave Plus from the HomeSeer system.

I am currently stuck on getting Z-Wave JS UI properly configured, specifically the serial port designation. I’ve seen entries searching this forum such as “tcp://192.168.10.234:10004”. How do you determine the proper IP address/port to enter in this field (none of the pulldown options worked)? Does it need to be the IP address of my VM? I’ve looked in the Windows Device Manager to no avail and even tried running “netstat -ano” from a Windows Command Prompt (returned a ton of TCP entries, so many it didn’t really help).

Thank you in advance for any advice/tips.

That HomeSeer stick is usb - not network connected. So because you decided to do a virtual install you need to make sure it’s first seen by your hypervisor (usb com port most likely) THEN passed through to the correct VM. At which point you would look under

Settings > System > Hardware > all hardware to find the path to the stick.

1 Like

Thanks, Nathan.