šŸšØ Honest Answer Alert : Is Home Assistant Reliable?

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner in home automation (not in the technology field, I am a developer).

I have only one question to ask you, because I canā€™t find the answer elsewhere, a real answer:

Is a home automation system running Home Assistant reliable?

Hereā€™s what I mean by reliable:

• A system that does not require frequent reboots
  • A system that does not lose its configuration following an update
  • A system that is capable of operating autonomously without constant manual intervention

In short, I am looking for a solution that can integrate harmoniously into my familyā€™s daily life without adding complexity or hassle.

Iā€™m particularly curious how Home Assistant handles power interruptions and network connectivity issues, since these incidents are inevitable. Additionally, I wonder if the Home Assistant ecosystem is mature enough to allow easy use by all members of my family, including those who are less comfortable with technology.

What is your opinion on this?

A big thank you for your reply

See you soon

Yes it is reliable.

However it does require monthly updates and possibly configuration changes if you are affected by breaking changes.

I have been 5000km from home for 12 months. The only issue I have had is hardware related. Crappy smart plugs dying.

Choice of hardware is important.

7 Likes

The answer to these 3 points is ā€œit dependsā€ā€¦

It depends upon:

• your hardware
  • your install method / environment
  • the robustness of your network
  • power supply reliability
  • the integrations you use (maybe the cloud)

Personally, I find it extremely robust but my setup is relatively simple compared to others.