Honeywell Thermostat install

Looking for help finding out how to integrate my Honeywell total comfort thermostat in to my system. Looked in the online docs but could not make senses of them I’m new with very little coding background.
Thx
D

I’ve got three Honeywell WiFi thermostats working fine with HA.

First of all, does yours work with Honeywell’s Total Connect Comfort app? That’s the first thing you need to set up.

The HA integration doesn’t communicate with the thermostat, only with the Honeywell server. There is no (known) way to directly access the thermostat locally.

After that it’s just a matter of adding a few lines to the climate: section of your configuration.yaml file. If you don’t have a climate: section, create it.

This configuration file isn’t really coding, it’s just a way to store settings, although the format is very finicky. Make sure you use a text editor and use spacing (not tabs) exactly like the example in this documentation:

You didn’t really ask a specific question, so I’m not sure if I’ve helped you at all, or just insulted your intelligence. If the latter, sorry. I figured I’d start at the beginning, and even if this doesn’t help you, it might help someone else.

1 Like

I have the info in my config file, but what card do I use? I tried the thermostat card but comes up blank.

What name did you give your thermostat in the Honeywell app or web site?

That’s the name which should appear under Configuration / Entities in HA.

You should be able to click on it, then select the “settings” icon in the upper right corner to see your thermostat settings.

If you don’t see the entity, then either you haven’t restarted HA since the config file change, or the settings in the config file aren’t correct, or for some other reason HA can’t communicate with the Honeywell server. The log in Configuration / Logs should tell you why.