Hot Water scheduling based on Forecast.Solar

Hi, I’m still very new to this, slowly getting my head around things but I feel like I’ve hit a brick wall with this after diving down various rabbit holes trying to find a solution.

I want to use Forecast.Solar to decide when to run my heat pump for hot water for an hour, based on when solar production is forecast highest.

There is a sensor for this, sensor.power_highest_peak_time_today which is a timestamp - however this periodically changes during the day and it can update itself to be in the past if the forecast changes significantly, potentially meaning no hot water if I just rely on that sensor triggering an automation.

What I would like to do is to read sensor.power_highest_peak_time_today early in the morning and use its value as the time to run the hot water for an hour. Right now that sensor reads “2023-08-29T14:00:00+00:00” as an example. I’ve tried creating an input datetime helper and the following code as an automation, and various variations of it to try and get it to work including trying to convert the date/time format, with no success.

alias: Hot Water On - Based on ForecastSolar
description: ""
trigger:
  - platform: time
    at: "05:00:00"
condition: []
action:
  - service: input_datetime.set_datetime
    data:
      timestamp: sensor.power_highest_peak_time_today
    target:
      entity_id: input_datetime.run_hot_water
mode: single

Can anyone help with this please? There’s a high chance I’m completely off the mark with how to do this, but I’m trying.

Hope this makes sense and apologies if this is straight forward to fix, I’ve spent a long time tinkering before getting to this point.

Try this:

action:
  - service: input_datetime.set_datetime
    data:
      datetime: "{{ states('sensor.power_highest_peak_time_today') }}"
    target:
      entity_id: input_datetime.run_hot_water

Thank you, that’s worked for me!