How a computational biologist tracks COVID-19 pt 1 of?

Hi all,

I’m Will, I’m a professor in Philadelphia and I study the HIV epidemic. I’ve been a HA user for a while, you might know my previous post on How Bayes Sensors work, from a Statistics Professor (with working Google Sheets!). I wanted to give the community here my perspective on tracking COVID-19 using Home Assistant at the local level.

In this post I will walk through creating an interactive tool using base HA components that will let you understand the local risk of COVID-19 that you have in your immediate area. I suggest reading in full as you’ll have to make a lot of non-automatable decisions and go on some sleuthing expeditions. Following along with the logic will help you adapt it to your specific situation.

I know this is an international audience, so this will apply differently to everyone. I am in Philadelphia, PA, USA with 76 confirmed cases and zero deaths so far. So, we’re very early. But, I’m going to try to tailor the HA code I’m sharing to a wide range of individual situations. Also, I mostly do my HA development through the templating engine, if someone wants to convert this stuff to an integration, I’m happy to collaborate, I’m just not good with the HA backend.

Now, our goals: 1) Estimate the true number of cases in our area given the number of deaths and 2) quantify the minimum number of individuals that could gather WITHOUT ANYONE being infected. This last number will be useful as a metric for whether it is safe to go grocery shopping or you shouldn’t even leave your house. The answer to the first, will let us calculate the second.