How can I leverage the additional sensors HA monitors in Alarm.com?

I’m new to HA and I must say this is an awesome forum – lots of helpful people here.

Here’s what I’d like to accomplish: I have integrated Alarm.com with HA and I can Arm/Disarm the environment with no problems.

I noticed the HA integration also monitors the window/doors/motion sensors in alarm.com.

I’ve had no success figuring out how to leverage these sensors to automate and trigger other z-wave devices. My example would be turning on a light when there’s motion from the Alarm.com sensor.

Any help figuring this out would be much appropriated.

I tried the following but getting config check errors in the automation.yaml. I’m not sure what’s missing?

- alias: Office
  trigger:
    platform: template
    value_template: "{{ alarm_control_panel.alarm_com, 'sensor_status', 'Office Motion Detector is Activated') }}"
  action:
    service: light.office_lights
    entity_id": light.office_lights

Invalid config for [automation]: extra keys not allowed @ data[‘action’][0][‘entity_id"’]. Got None invalid template (TemplateSyntaxError: unexpected ‘)’) for dictionary value @ data[‘trigger’][0][‘value_template’]. Got None

You have an errant double quote (") next to entity_id , last line of your actions.

Your template is not configured correctly. As there could be more than one state reported in sensor_status you are going to need to use the string in method. Try this for the template:

"{{ 'Office Motion Detector is Activated' in state_attr('alarm_control_panel.alarm_com', 'sensor_status') }}"

Personally I’d make a bunch of binary template sensors to match on the expected strings in sensor_status. You can then just use the binary sensors in state triggers in your automations. You also get nice feedback as you are able to see the sensors in the front end. Like this:

binary_sensor
  - platform: template
    sensors:
      office_motion_detector:
        friendly_name: Office Motion Detector