How do I add Xiaomi - Mi Control Hub?

Hi folks,

I’m new to Home Assistant and this is my first post. It seems I have fallen at the first post so to speak!
Home Assistant installed fine with no issues but I cannot add anything to it. My setup is all Xiaomi, purchased from the Mi store in Kaohsiung, Taiwan. Using the Mi app or Google Assistant, everything works fine with no issues. But I wanted to add a lot more flexibility so that’s why I went with HA

The first thing that I noticed is that HA doesn’t have any Mi specific setups. Xiaomi Aqara is all that I see. Here

My hub and other products are not Aqara, they are Mi.

I have tried to find info but have so far failed dismally.

I tried this:

xiaomi_aqara:
  discovery_retry: 5
  gateways:
    - key: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

The key cannot be found in my version of the (iOS)app. So I found this post explaining how to find it:

I worked through the process but end up with a key that has 32 characters instead of the required 16 characters.

I really feel lost and don’t know where to go from here.
All of my lights, switches and sensors are Xiaomi, if I cannot connect to the hub what other options do I have?

The above isn’t finding the hub key, but finding an internal key used by each device to talk to the hub. This isn’t what you want.

HA (vacuum cleaners and other bits aside) normally only talks to the hub - thats the

xiaomi_aqara:
  discovery_retry: 5
  gateways:
    - key: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

config.

To get this working you need to enable the hub api, and then get its key as detailed here https://www.home-assistant.io/components/xiaomi_aqara/ and more specifically here https://www.domoticz.com/wiki/Xiaomi_Gateway_(Aqara)#Adding_the_Xiaomi_Gateway_to_Domoticz

1 Like

Enable the hub API? I don’t see how to do that. I thought I just had to add that snippet of code to the configuration file.