How do I do this, properly?

Hi folx.

I’m trying to do what I think is going to be a more complex template than anything I’ve ever tried before. I’m not a programmer, but I’ve been playing at HA for just about 2 years now and I’m getting better at figuring out the terminology of what I need to search for to get answers. But I’m a bit stumped.

Here’s my use case:

I have NFC stickers that will be located in various rooms, that, when scanned, will trigger an automation asking/reminding me to do various tasks. I have a rough schedule in my brain on when all of my tasks should be completed, so I think there needs to be a datatime component. Right now my lone automation is that if Tag A is scanned, that the Datatime Stamp is changed to that moment.

I want, after X amount of time AND if Tag B HASN’T been scanned, for an automation to remind me to scan B. Scanning Tag B then remind me to start those tasks.

I’m not sure if my brain is then trying to overcomplicating this. My brain insists that I need the datatime component, to make a template that if the most recent datatime stamp is greater than X amount of time, then I need the secondary reminder automation. (Tag B hasn’t been scanned yet!). I’m not even sure how I’d set that up from a template standpoint.

And I know from previous discussions with @123 that using templating as a trigger isn’t a best practice.

So I guess I’m flailing at windmills and hoping some one can point me in the right direction?

what’s the X amount of time between tag a and tag b? if it’s long enough that you worry about home assistant restarting in the middle, then doing a restorable timer may be the right thing. if it’s short enough or if you’re not concerned with homeassistant restarting in the middle, it’s pretty easy to do a wait_for_event after tag a.

Different times at different points in the day. Longest is 1.5 hours. Logically (haha) HA shouldn’t be restarting during that time, but.