How do I extend my Zigbee network with IKEA Trådfri repeater and Sonoff ZB Bridge?

I’m new to HA and I’ve been playing around myself for awhile, lurking the forums whenever issues have come up - but now I need your help to understand this very basic configuration problem I’m having. I’ve tried searching but can’t seem to find the exact answer… might be searching the wrong keywords.

I have the Sonoff Zigbee Bridge all connected through the eWeLink App running some motion and temp/hum sensors. All working fine except I can’t seem to get the signal to reach one temp sensor in my garage. So I searched a little and came to the conclusion from various topics than the IKEA Trådfri Repeater would be a good fit and should be working with my Sonoff.

But I just can’t figure out how I “add it” as a repeater? :stuck_out_tongue:

Like how do I configure it to extend my Zigbee signal? I’ve read I somehow need to pair it - but with what and how?

Thanks for all the input you can give me.

You pair the device with your sonoff bridge the same as you would with any other device. No need to configure it in some special way to act as a repeater.

Thanks for the reply @Burningstone. It’s wierd because that’s exactly what I initially tried and thought maybe something was wrong.

I go into the bridge in the eWeLink App. Click Add and at the same time set the repeater in pairing mode (waiting for 3 quick flashes from the light) but nothing pairs. Can I be doing something wrong here?

I’ve also tried restarting the bridge, same result.

Thanks for the help

I don’t know, maybe the Tradfro Repeater is not supported by the Sonoff Bridge?

I found this Advice on Zigbee range extending and thought that somehow verified that the Trådfri extender somehow worked with Sonoff Zigbee but I might have misunderstood.

Does anyone else have experience with Trådfri and Sonoff Zigbee Bridge?

Then I suggest asking someone in this thread directly on how they got it to work.