How do I get location details of my car from latitude longitude attributes?

Hi,

I am a beginner to templates and creating new sensors, so I need some help.

My Goal : I have integrated Mercedes Me and now have an entity which has latitude and longitude as Attributes. On the logbook it displays Home, Work, other but I want it to specify the address of “other”, just like how I can track my Phone by address.

What I tried to do unsuccessfully : Created a template sensor but pulling out the Latitude and Logitude. Then used an automation using “device_tracker.see”. I did this based on this thread - Cannot figure out device_tracker.see service [Solved]

carlat:

friendly_name: "Car Latitude"

unit_of_measurement: ''

value_template: "{{ state_attr('device_tracker.w1kcg2db8paXXXXX_device_tracker', 'latitude') }}"

unique_id: carlatitude

carlong:

friendly_name: "Car Longitude"

unit_of_measurement: ''

value_template: "{{ state_attr('device_tracker.w1kcg2db8paXXXXXX_device_tracker', 'longitude') }}"

unique_id: carlongitude
- id: '1123234243000024'

alias: Device Tracker

description: ''

trigger:

- platform: state

entity_id: sensor.carlat, sensor.carlong

action:

- service: device_tracker.see

data_template:

gps:

- "{{ states('sensor.carlat') }}"

- "{{ states('sensor.carlong') }}"

mode: single

What am I doing wrong??

What is going wrong? Is it just that you’re not getting an address? I’m guessing that on your phone you’re using the companion app, and that does send an address. It’s not a function of all device trackers.

Regardless, your “see” service call doesn’t look right, as it has no dev_id. I’m not sure what you’re wanting to do by copying the lat/long from “w1kcg2db8pa” into other entities, and then use them in a “see” call for another entity.

There is a HACS Places integration that can take a device tracker with gps and give you the address. You should be able to configure it with your “w1kcg2db8pa” (the car?) entity directly.