How do I set an led to a specific color?

Hello! I just recently bought a 7" fire tablet so I’m just beginning with AppDaemon & HADashboard. So far I have a basic dashboard set-up with a few widgets to control a Flux rgb led. For a lamp in my bedroom I have multiple widgets controlling the same led bulb as shown below

flux_01:
  widget_type: light
  entity: light.flux_01
  title: My Lamp

flux_01red:
  title2: Red
  icon_style_active: "color:red"
  on_attributes:
    brightness: 40
    rgb_color: 87, 0, 0

flux_01org:
  title2: Orange
  icon_style_active: "color:orange"
  on_attributes:
    rgb_color: 128, 46, 0

Screenshot_2018-05-18-00-35-49
The second two widgets are just using the on_attributes to set the rgb_color. Both widgets work as expected IF the light is off when I press each it will turn on with the correct color set. Also as expected, pressing any of the three widgets while the lamp is on will turn it off.
Instead of having this, I would like to keep the first widget as the the lamp on/off and brightness control but have the 2nd two widgets just be a plain colored squares that I could press would change the color of the lamp.
I’m not really sure where to start.

Do I need a scene or an automation to trigger? I understand some basic concepts of programing but nothing specific to python. Is this something I would do directly with an AppDaemon app. I’ve also been looking at node-red. I’m starting with two colors but hope to add more once I understand how to get started. I hoping this would be relatively simple to get started with. I have no idea how to write the code but I think the logic would be like this

press red square
  if lamp is off then turn turn on
  set lamp to red (rgb_color: 87, 0, 0)
# But never turn the lamp off
set the lamp color in the first icon to red

press orange widget
 if lamp is off then turn it on
set lamp to orange
# But never turn the lamp off
set the lamp color in the first icon to orange
#